Song Bird

My songbird found yet another perch to sit on. She joined the Boise First Congregational United Church of Christ choir today. I sat and thought about the child who came to church with me so long ago. Church today showered me with significance and comfort and melancholy as well. It truly represented our relationship as it has grown, as we, separately, have grown. Sitting such a distance from her as she did her thing and I mine, reminds me of how life looks for me as a mother to a young adult, we are connected but she is widening her circle and stretching her wings, readying herself for flight. I was thankful today for the symbolism of our daily lives. Still a bit uncomfortable but each Sunday, I am in a safe place to practice for her final flight. I love you Hannah.

microblog

2 thoughts on “Song Bird

Leave a Reply

